International Conference on Nuclear Theory in the Supercomputing Era – 2013

May 13 – 17, 2013

Ames, Iowa

This is the first circular of the NTSE-2013 International Conference to be held from May 13 to 17, 2013, in Ames, Iowa. This year's conference will celebrate **James Vary**'s 70th birthday. We look forward to seeing you there.



Web site

All up-to-date information can be found at: http://www.cpm.iastate.edu/ntse2013/

Program

The conference starts at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, May 13, and ends at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, May 17. The list of confirmed invited speakers is available at the conference web site.

Topics and keynote speakers

- I. Ab initio nuclear structure
 - Gaute Hagen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
- II. Microscopic approaches to nuclear reactions
 - Petr Navrátil (TRIUMF, Canada)
- III. Origin and properties of strong inter-nucleon interactions
 - Ruprecht Machleidt (University of Idaho)
- IV. Light-front quantum field theory (in particular QED and QCD)
 - Stan Brodsky (SLAC-Stanford)
- V. Computational science and applied mathematics (related to large-scale calculations in nuclear theory)
 - Esmond Ng (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Special talks

Keynote talk on Lattice QCD...... Martin Savage (University of Washington)

Conference summaryBruce Barrett (University of Arizona)

Distinguished lecture James Vary (Iowa State University)

Proceedings

The conference proceedings will be published electronically and in printed format after the conference. All articles will be free to read and to download as soon as they are published. Manuscripts should be submitted by Monday, September 9, 2013.

Main conference venue

Memorial Union, Iowa State University campus in Ames.

Registration

Opens January 25, 2013. Use the "Registration" button at the conference website.

	Registration	Banquet on	Tour Excursion	Deadline
	Fee (in USD)	May 15 (Wed.)	on May 16 (Thu.)	
Early registration	\$300			March 1, 2013
Late registration	\$400			
Early One-day registration	\$125	\$40 (optional)	\$25 (optional)	March 1, 2013
Late One-day registration	\$160	\$40 (optional)	\$25 (optional)	
Guest		\$40 (optional)	\$25 (optional)	

Accommodations

Memorial Union Hotel, http://www.mu.iastate.edu (located in same facility as the conference location).

Book at the Memorial Union Hotel by April 15, 2013 to obtain the conference rate and to ensure availability. Reservations should be made by phone (515-296-6848 or 1-800-433-3449). See the conference web page (under "Lodging") for further details.

Important dates

January 25, 2013	Registration opens
March 1, 2013	Early registration closes
April 15, 2013	Deadline for hotel reservations
May 13-17, 2013	Conference dates
September 9, 2013	Deadline for Proceedings submission

For any questions, please contact us at <u>conference-2013@nuclear.physics.iastate.edu</u>.

We greatly acknowledge support by

Iowa State University
Pacific National University

Scientific Advisory Committee

Bruce Barrett (Chair), University of Arizona Stan Brodsky, SLAC, Stanford University Ümit Çatalyürek, The Ohio State University Mark Caprio, University of Notre Dame David Dean, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Jerry Draayer, Louisiana State University John Hiller, University of Minnesota-Duluth Morten Hjorth-Jensen, U. of Oslo & Michigan State U. Youngman Kim, Institute for Basic Science, South Korea Ruprecht Machleidt, University of Idaho Alexander Mazur, Pacific National University, Russia Petr Navrátil, TRIUMF, Canada Witold Nazarewicz, U. of Tennessee & Oak Ridge National Lab Esmond Ng, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Giuseppina Orlandini, University of Trento, Italy Erich Ormand, Lawrence Livermore National Lab

Takaharu Otsuka, University of Tokyo, Japan

Steve Pieper, Argonne National Laboratory
Wayne Polyzou, University of Iowa
Jianwei Qiu, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Sofia Quaglioni, Lawrence Livermore National Lab
Andrey Shirokov, Moscow State University, Russia
Masha Sosonkina, Old Dominion University
James Vary, Iowa State University

Organizing Committee

Bruce Barrett (Co-Chair), University of Arizona
Kristina Launey, Louisiana State University
Pieter Maris (Co-Chair), Iowa State University
Jianwei Qiu, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Joseph Shinar, Iowa State University
Andrey Shirokov (Co-Chair), Moscow State University
Masha Sosonkina, Old Dominion University
Kirill Tuchin, Iowa State University
Xingbo Zhao, Iowa State University

